Dan Hooper

Dan Hooper

Founder & Executive Director

Dan founded ScholarShot in 2009. Dan has been a successful business growth executive in Dallas since 1979.  He left a successful business consulting firm, ISI, he helped manage and grow since 2003 to serve as Executive Director of ScholarShot.  ISI has experienced record growth the last 6 years.  It’s Dan’s vision and passion which helped create the ScholarShot model and DegreeDallas campaign.


Carlos Valadez

Carlos Valadez

Director of Scholar Success

Carlos is a first-generation Texan and college graduate, having graduated in 2010 from Texas A&M with his Bachelor of Science in Bioenvironmental Science.  Carlos joined ScholarShot as its first Academic Manager in 2014 after 3 years of experience as a High School College Advisor and University Admissions Counselor. Carlos’ knowledge of financial aid and admissions practices has provided ScholarShot with a number of processes and controls to help monitor and measure scholar success. In 2018, he became Director of Scholar Success and is responsible for overseeing the Academic Managers.

April Tillett, LMSW

April Tillett, LMSW

Program Director

April is a first-generation college graduate from UT Austin in 2011 with a BA in Psychology and Minor in Education. April joined ScholarShot as Academic Manager in July 2016. She brings with her six years of experience in college admissions and financial aid processes after serving as a High School College Advisor & College Admissions Counselor. She completed her Masters in Social Work from UT Arlington in December 2016, where her concentration on administrative and community practice has helped her in additional responsibilities such as marketing and managing ScholarShot’s website. In 2018, she became Program Director and is responsible for cultivating relationships with community partners to aid in scholar recruitment and managing the mentor program.
Heather Lacey

Heather Lacey

Academic Manager

Heather is a first-generation college student, who gradauted from Texas A&M University with a Bachelor’s degree in Sociology in 2018. She credits her experience to AdviseTX, where she worked as a College Advisor with under-represented, low-income, first-generation students. During her time as an adviser, she gained an exceptional amount of knowledge of the college-going process. Heather joined ScholarShot in 2020 and will use her passion combined with experience to guide students through their academic journey.
Rebecca Morgan, MBA

Rebecca Morgan, MBA

Director of Data Intelligence

Rebecca earned a Bachelor’s degree in History in 2011 from Wake Forest University and a Master’s in Business Administration in 2017 from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. She comes with varying experience both in education and the non-profit sector. She has worked as both a teacher and administrator in the public-school system giving her insight into what kinds of improvements can benefit students preparing for college. Most recently, she worked as a Non-Profit Consultant where she advised non-profits on strategic and fundraising initiatives. She is excited for the opportunity to join ScholarShot as the Director of Data Intelligence where she will work to create the first Economic Mobility Report Card for Universities in Texas.
Lana Marker, CFRE

Lana Marker, CFRE

Development Director

Lana has over 10 years of experience in non-profit fundraising. Her ability to cultivate relationships and community engagement has led to great success for each nonprofit she has had the pleasure to serve. Lana is the daughter of a first-generation college student, her mother. She witnessed her mother struggle to get her degree and to become a great success as a result. As a mother to a High Schooler, Lana will be an asset as a parent navigating the confusing and arduous journey of preparing her son for college. She is excited to join ScholarShot as the Development Director where she will grow our fundraising efforts and community awareness.


Cliff Braly, Finance
Mario Dolan, Governance
Cole Evans, Operations
Dan Hooper, Executive Director
Guy Kerr, Compliance and Governance
Bob McCamey, Vice Chair
George Morgan, Treasurer
Winifred Mundinger, Events
Deanna Naugles, Program
Lou Schaufele, Operations Chair
Rob Spencer, Funding
Van Sheets, Funding
Enisha Williams, Events
Jim Wills, Board Chair


Dr. Judith Allen, Ph.D., Chief Program Officer, Communities in Schools, Dallas Region
Dr. Cathy Bryce, Educator and former HPISD Superintendent
Mrs. Becky McCamey